Aunt Sarah’s Coconut Cake

I like to make cakes.  Whenever a family gathering calls for a cake (birthdays, holidays, etc.), I rather eagerly volunteer to make it happen. 

Last year for Easter, I decided that I wanted to make a coconut cake, so I called my MeMaw to track down my Great-Aunt Sarah’s recipe (rumor had it the cake was good).  An hour later, we were caught up on life and I had the recipe…and bonus, three additional recipes as well!

The rumor was correct – the cake was good!  So I made it again this year…with a few changes of my own.

 

Ingredients:

Butter flavor cake mix

2 cups sugar

16oz. carton sour cream

12oz. pkg. coconut

12oz. tub cool whip

Instructions:

  1. Prepare cake mix according to package directions.  (Aunt Sarah’s recipe calls for 2 round 8” cake layers split in half when cooled, but I cheat and use 3 round 9” layers instead.)
  2. Combine sugar, sour cream, and coconut, blending well.  Chill.  Reserve 1.5 cups of mixture for frosting.  Spread remainder between cake layers.
  3. Combine reserved sour cream mixture and cool whip for frosting.  (Aunt Sarah’s recipe says to spread on top and sides of cake, but this year, I used it in between layers as well – on top of the sour cream mixture.)
  4. Seal cake in air tight container and refrigerate for 3 days before serving.

 Trust me; the 3 day wait is totally worth it!  Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Aunt Sarah’s Coconut Cake

  1. Pam

    Yum! This is the coconut cake my mom makes…we had it yesterday and I managed to bring a little home with me. (And it’s all mine, since Dana doesn’t like coconut!) Anytime you want to try out a recipe, I’ll be glad to be a guinea pig!
    Oh…I loved your tribute to Russell! Beautiful!

  2. Kendra

    So I’m so not a cocunt cake fan just don’t like the way the texture it, but this sounds devine!!!

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Pie « The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.