Chairs with a Purpose

I used to prefer studying at a coffee shop, or a campus library, or really anywhere other than home.  Recently, though, I have found my studying to be much more productive at the one place I previously avoided: home.

When I write papers, I often sit at the kitchen table as it provides a large surface to spread out outlines and/or research and tends to keep me focused.  But when I read, I have two preferred locations.

This chair and ottoman set from Ikea is in my bedroom.  I actually bought this chair specifically for the purpose of studying, and most of my textbook reading occurs here.  It’s simple and practical.

But my favorite spot to read/study non-textbooks (both for class and otherwise) is this chair in the living room.  It was a birthday present from my parents when I turned 17, and my mom made the giraffe-print slipcover – the original fabric is striped – for a recent birthday, and I absolutely love it!  It’s comfy, fun, and is seriously motivating.

Am I the only one with a favorite reading spot?  What’s yours?

2 thoughts on “Chairs with a Purpose

  1. Kendra

    So I don’t have a specific reading spot/chair (well unless you count my beach chair on the beach 🙂 )… but my favorite spot to curl up and read is on my bed!!

    1. Emily Post author

      Ummm…beach chairs count! But I have this rule about only reading “fluff” novels on the beach…I can’t process theology in the sand. ha!

Comments are closed.