Be Still and KNOW

 

 

I don’t know what’s going on in your world, but the last couple of weeks have been stressful and exhausting for me.  My heart is weary, my mind is overloaded, and my neck muscles are tight with tension.

So it is with a deep sense of humility that I approach this topic knowing that the message is directed straight at me. 

As I was praying late this afternoon, I was overcome with the realization that I have [yet again] been relying on my own resources to deal with my current stress.  And the following verse immediately came to mind:

“Be still and know that I am God. 

I will be exalted among the nations,

I will be exalted in the earth.”

Psalm 46:10 (New International Version)

Relax.  Rest.  Be Still.

Know that God is God.

Worship.  Praise.  Exalt.

Have a few minutes to spare?  Go read the entire chapter surrounding this verse (Psalm 46).  If you’re feeling at all overwhelmed, I think you’ll be encouraged!

There are many aspects of God’s character that we can name with confidence:

            God is good…

            God is holy…

            God is love…

            God is just…

            God is faithful…

            God is sovereign…

…among others.  And these are all true.  But when you’re running on fumes, sometimes it’s enough to simply rest in the promise that GOD IS.

In response to Moses’ question regarding what he would tell the Israelites about who had sent him,

“God said to Moses, ‘I AM WHO I AM.  This is what you are to say to the Israelites: I AM has sent me to you.’” Exodus 3:14 (NIV

And that was enough.  “I AM WHO I AM.”  God is.   

Now I feel the need to consecrate my heart to the Lord, confess my wandering and unsettled spirit, and rest in the absolute knowledge that GOD IS.

Will you join me?

One thought on “Be Still and KNOW

  1. Ashley

    Emily:

    Thanks for sharing this. It seems so often, especially, right now, that life gets in the way of listening to that still small voice.

    Our church choir is presenting a musical on Sunday titled Shelter. It’s amazing how much this musical has spoken to me over the past few weeks of preparing. There is a song in the musical entitled “Be Still”. After listening to it this morning and reading your post…I’m convinced that God wants me to just be still and listen to him and let him handle everything for me.

    Thanks for sharing. Love you and miss you tons.

Comments are closed.