A Bird’s Nest

A few weeks ago, I started hearing birds chirping as I was getting ready for work in the mornings.  The chirping was so loud that I thought there might be birds in the attic, but I only noticed it in the mornings, so I didn’t give it much further thought.

Several days after the chirping began, my roommate informed me that there was a nest in the wreath (which may or may not be a leftover Christmas wreath…) on the front door.

 

Much to the disapproval of the momma bird (who sat in the tree right outside the front door and fussed the entire time), I looked in the nest and found these…

 Two eggs!

After a few days of warily walking out my front door to check the mail for fear that the momma bird would either (a) fly into the house or (b) peck me to death for disturbing her carefully crafted nest, I looked again and there were six eggs.

I was starting to get concerned that the eggs hadn’t hatched yet, but tonight I found these…

 Baby birds! 

And they’re so ugly they’re almost cute.

