On Dropping the Bible…or Not

Not too long ago I went to pick up my Bible and a commentary from my nightstand.  Because of the way I grabbed them, I couldn’t balance both.  One of them had to go, so guess which one I dropped?  

Yep.  I dropped the Bible.  God’s Word. 

As a kid, that would have cost me some serious points in Bible Drill tournaments…

But in the moment, it made me stop and think.

 

I struggle with time management.  Big time. 

Don’t get me wrong, I have a wacky obsession with planning.  I manage to keep track of planners, calendars, to do lists, post-its, and a pda; all serving their own important purposes, of course.  Yet the struggle with time management still lingers.

Lately, though, it seems what I would prefer to label as a struggle with time management is, in reality, much more of a struggle with priorities.  Sounds more daunting, doesn’t it?

When life gets busy, I tend to cut corners in (or altogether ignore) certain areas that I shouldn’t…both in the big things and the little things…even in spending intentional and focused time studying God’s Word. 

But rather than depending on the latest method of organization, in my attempt to reprioritize, I am again and again drawn to the same rather simple truth:

“But seek first the kingdom of God

and His righteousness,

and all these things will be added to you.”

Matthew 6:33 (English Standard Version)

Context: This verse is part of Jesus’ Sermon on the Mount.  Specifically (and appropriately), this verse is right in the middle of Jesus instructing us not to worry.  Check out the surrounding text!

Easier said than done?!

While I am by no means prepared [or qualified] to offer a lesson in time management, I think I can safely say that seeking the Lord first through a consistent intake of Scripture is absolutely essential to keeping our priorities straight.  Especially when life is pulling us in a million other directions and we begin to feel unbalanced.    

In the words of Oswald Chambers,

“It must be God first, God second, and God third…”  

So the next time you’re presented with the choice, don’t follow my example.  Try dropping the commentary instead of the Bible.  Though it may not be losing points in a tournament, when God’s Word is dropped, there is still a serious cost.

