What Jesus Christ is Not

When I don’t get enough sleep, I tend to be grouchy.  When I don’t get enough nutrition, I tend to be snappy.  And when I don’t get enough down time, I tend to be cranky.

But sometimes (and this may come as a shock to some of you…) I am just straight up moody.

For absolutely no. reason. at. all.

And it’s in those moments that I am most thankful for the following truth recorded by the author of Hebrews in his closing words of encouragement:

“Jesus Christ is the same

yesterday

and today

and forever.”

Hebrews 13:8 (New International Version)

For further context, go read the first chapter of Hebrews.  Be sure to pay close attention to verses 8-12.

In other words, Jesus Christ…

the only Son of God,

the Holy Lamb sacrificed for our sins,

the Word of God and God Himself,

the High Priest,

the Sovereign Lord,

the One seated at the right hand of God,

the eternal King of Kings and Lord of Lords  

…is not moody.

Quite the contrary, Jesus Christ is eternally secure and faithful.

One thought on “What Jesus Christ is Not

  1. Kendra

    You be grouchy or snappy… I couldn’t ever imagine that ;)…

    It amazes me that he is the same yesterday, today and forever!It’s such a reassurance to me, that even in my own moodiness or fickleness Jesus Christ is not moody, he’s not fickle and he loves me!!!

Comments are closed.