The Best Banana Bread Muffins EVER

I love to make banana bread and typically have frozen bananas on hand, so banana bread shows up in my house frequently.  

Over the past several years, I have tried various recipes for banana bread in an attempt to find the perfect one.

After trying about eight thousand different recipes, I finally combined the elements I liked from each to create what has become my favorite banana bread…in muffin form.

 

I do have 3 secrets to making the best Banana Bread: 

  1. Always add extra bananas
  2. Always add extra vanilla
  3. Always add extra sugar

[I guess I should mention that I take after my great-memaw and tend to think the rule about sugar applies to just about any recipe!]

So without further ado, here’s my favorite banana bread recipe with the above “secrets” already applied.

Ingredients:

3 cups sugar

1 cup butter, softened

2 teaspoons vanilla

4 eggs

3 ½ cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1 cup buttermilk

8 medium sized, very ripe bananas, mashed

 (optional topping)

½ cup rolled oats

5 tablespoons brown sugar

½ teaspoon cinnamon

2-3 tablespoons butter, chilled  

 

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F and either grease 3 muffin tins OR place paper liners in 3 muffin tins (which is my preferred method).
  2. If the bananas are frozen (in the peel), let them thaw for about 5 minutes, then cut the ends off, slice the banana in half lengthwise, remove the peel, and mash.
  3. In a [very] large bowl, cream together the sugar and butter.  Add the eggs a couple at a time.  Beat well. Add vanilla and mashed bananas until well blended.
  4. In another bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt.  Stir (not beat) half of the dry mixture into the egg mixture, then add half of the buttermilk and stir, the remaining dry mixture and stir, the remaining buttermilk and stir until almost combined.
  5. Beat the mixture for no more than 60 seconds, then pour/spoon into muffin cups.
  6. For topping: combine oats, brown sugar, and cinnamon.  Cut in butter until mixture is crumbly.  Sprinkle on top of muffins.
  7. Bake for about 20-23 minutes.

 Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “The Best Banana Bread Muffins EVER

  1. Pam

    Thanks for this recipe! I’ve tried lots of banana bread recipes and they never turn out right. Dry, or burnt outside with gooey middle, or not banana-y enough. I’m going to try these muffins (after I gather some ripe bananas.) But I’d be willing to try a sample if you have any to share. 🙂
    Pam

  2. Kelly

    I know some girls that are graduating and that would be a very nice thing to make for them…LOL…teasing!! God bless! Kelly

  3. Pingback: Banana Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting « The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.