All Consuming Thoughts

[While I don’t have an official schedule for blog posts, I do typically try to post devo thoughts for the week within the 48-hour window surrounding Thursday. Meaning anywhere between Wednesday afternoon and Friday afternoon is deemed appropriate. For the sake of my calendar (and perhaps sanity), let’s assume the 48-hour window has been extended and this still counts…]

This week, I have been on a sole mission: to complete a paper.

In some ways, my thoughts have been completely wrapped up in all things analyzing, writing, and editing. But sitting in one place for an extended period has also left plenty of time for my mind to wander and explore other highly intellectual and theological topics, such as braces.

Yes, braces.

Braces are still new to me, and I have noticed over the past couple of weeks that I spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about these foreign objects that have taken up residence in my mouth. They just plain don’t feel “right” and have consumed much of my thoughts.

Thus earlier this week, it struck me:

If my thoughts were even half as consumed with the Lord as they are with braces, my life could be radically different.

Consider this:

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ,

set your hearts on things above,

where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.

Set your minds on things above,

not on earthly things.”

Colossians 3:1-2 (New International Version, emphasis added)

I somehow don’t think braces are included in the “things above” category. But why is it so important to turn our hearts and minds to things of the Lord?

Consider this:

“Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world,

but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s

will is – his good, pleasing and perfect will.”

Romans 12:2 (New International Version)

Do we purposefully position our minds to be renewed and transformed? According to Paul in Romans 12, this is essential to knowing and doing the will of God.

Have a few extra minutes? Check out Colossians 3:1-17 and Romans 12:1-8 for some practical guidance regarding where to set our hearts and minds!

At different times in my life, my thoughts have been consumed with various topics; some of great eternal importance and others quite trivial, like braces. But interestingly enough, since making this connection, when my mind has wandered to my braces, while sadly not always turning immediately to the Lord, I have begun to re-direct my thoughts to other things of greater significance.

What area of your thoughts needs to be re-focused on the Lord?

When those all-consuming thoughts threaten to take over, will you commit to purposefully and intentionally “set your minds on things above” and let your mind be consumed with the Lord instead?

[Oh, and for the curious souls: yes, I did finish the paper. Hallelujah!]

