Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Cookies

On Sunday evening, I had an intense craving for chocolate, but didn’t feel like making anything overly complicated.  I considered just making brownies, but didn’t have a box mix in the pantry.  (And yes, I actually prefer brownies from a box to any made-from-scratch recipe that I’ve tried.  I know; it doesn’t make sense…)

So my search for chocolate led me to this FABULOUS recipe for chocolate chocolate chip cake cookies on allrecipes.com!

 

 

I mean…YUM!  These cookies are rich and moist and wonderful!

 

 

 

Except for a couple of minor ingredient substitutions (regular salt instead of kosher salt and salted butter instead of unsalted) and one omission (no nuts – I’m allergic), I followed the recipe exactly.

Ingredients:

          1 cup butter

          1 ½ cups sugar

          2 eggs

          1 teaspoon vanilla extract

          2 cups all-purpose flour

          ½ teaspoon salt

          2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

          2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

 

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. In large mixing bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy (for 8-10 minutes).  Add the eggs one at a time.  Add the vanilla.

3. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder in large plastic baggie.  Seal bag and combine until no separate ingredients are showing.

4. Add the flour mix to the butter/sugar.  Mix together until completely combined (about 3 mintues).  Add the chocolate chips.

5. Drop by tablespoons onto cookie sheet.

6. Bake for 11 minutes.  Let cool on cookie sheet for a minute or two, then remove to cooling rack to cool completely.

 

 

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Cookies

  1. Tes

    Those pictures look so good. I love making cookies and chocolate chip cookie is always our favourite. But your lovely dark chocolate cookies with the crunchy chip buried in them look divined.

  2. Kendra

    Yum!!! and I am with you on the brownies, give me a box over made from scratch any day… ohh and top it with a scoop of vanilla and chocolate syrup 🙂

Comments are closed.