No Words without THE Word

Last weekend, I spent Friday night and Saturday on a retreat at Lake Wateree with the young singles group from church.

We had a great time! 

 

 

And now I want to live on a lake.  In a house complete with a beautiful porch, perfect white rocking chairs, and a glorious view.  Seriously.

But as is not altogether uncommon for me, I didn’t sleep well.  Most of the girls were asleep by around 1:30, but I managed to lie awake until about 3:00 (not to mention I woke up every half hour after that until almost 9:00 when I couldn’t handle it anymore and sought refuge in a cup – or two – of coffee).

As irritating as the inability to fall asleep was, around 2:00, I began to think that maybe the Lord was keeping me awake for a reason; perhaps to pray for something or someone specific.  But while my mind was filled with unrest and pulled in several different directions as I recalled the stresses and uncertainties of the previous weeks, the words and the energy to pray just weren’t there.

So I began reciting Scripture. 

(Quietly, of course, since the other girls in the room clearly were sleeping.)

In those moments, I was able to recall sooo many verses filled with truth and promise.  It was incredibly powerful and deeply meaningful.

And as I began to process all the words from Scripture filling my heart and mind, this thought began to fill my very being:

I have NO words without THE Word.

Immediately, I was reminded of this passage:

 

“All men are like grass,

and all their glory is like the flowers of the field.

The grass withers and the flowers fall,

because the breath of the Lord blows on them.

Surely the people are grass.

The grass withers and the flowers fall,

but the Word of our God stands forever.”

Isaiah 40:6-8 (New International Version)

 

I love to express my thoughts through the written word, but my words are as insignificant and fleeting as the grass and the flowers.  In contrast, the Word of God is both significant and eternal.

As I processed further, this thought followed:

I am NOTHING without Christ: THE Word.

And with that, I was reminded of this passage:

 

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God,

and the Word was God. 

He was with God in the beginning. 

Through him all things were made;

without him nothing was made that has been made. 

In him was life,

and that life was the light of men…To all who received him,

to those who believed in his name,

he gave the right to become children of God –

children born not of natural descent,

nor of human decision or a husband’s will,

but born of God.”

John 1:1-4; 12-13 (New International Version)

 

Not only are my words void and meaningless without being grounded in THE Word (Scripture), my very identity as a child of God is because of THE Word (Christ).

While I still may not have slept well, that night I was filled with a sense of release and peace as I was overcome with the reassurance that I don’t have to plan every part of my life, and I don’t have to know all the details or the “whys”.  Rather, I am to surrender to the One who already has it planned and knows all the answers.  

After all, I have NO words, and am indeed NOTHING, without Him.

4 thoughts on “No Words without THE Word

  1. Kimberly

    Thank you for the beautiful reminder that we are nothing without Christ! That we need to be grounded in His word everyday! This makes me miss our bible studies!

Comments are closed.