Internal Questions / External Implications

As I was driving to work one morning, I passed a woman walking her dogs and immediately thought, “I want a dog!” 

 

 

This is not an uncommon thought for me these days.  I miss having a dog around and would love to have a canine companion again.  But I wasn’t expecting the conversation with myself that ensued:

Me: I want a dog!

Self: But you don’t have time for a dog right now.

Me: I could make time.

Self: You’re never home.

Me: I should be at home more to study anyways.

Self: Does God want you to have a dog?

Me: Whoa! Where did that come from?

Self: Well, does He?

Me: Does EVERYTHING have to be about God? Does He have to be a part of EVERY decision?!?

Said out-loud: “Ummm, YES!”

First, I was reminded of this verse:

“So whether you eat or drink or

whatever you do,

do it all for the glory of God.”

            1 Corinthians 10:31 (New International Version – emphasis added)

 

Then, this verse:

“And whatever you do,

whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus,

giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Colossians 3:17 (New International Version – emphasis added)

 

The word “whatever” doesn’t leave much room for interpretation.  To answer my own question, everything DOES have to be about God.

Does this mean that we should consult God regarding what shirt to wear next Tuesday? Depending on the shirt, maybe. Probably not.

But consider one more verse.  In the words of Jesus:

 

“Love the Lord your God

with all your heart and with all your soul

and with all your mind and with all your strength.”

Mark 12:30 (New International Version)

 

God’s perfect plan for His followers is complete surrender to His will/way.  From the trivial to the significant.  He DOES have to be a part of every decision because He requires every part of us.

Every. Single. Part.

3 thoughts on “Internal Questions / External Implications

  1. Kendra

    🙂 Thank you for the reminder that He DOES have to be part of every decision b/c He requires every part of us. … I seem to forget that a lot b/c I like to have things my way… need to keep working on that!!! Thanks for the post!!

Comments are closed.