Strawberry Pie

I’ve mentioned before that I like to bake cakes for family gatherings.  If a cake seems even halfway appropriate for the occasion, I am all there with my [meager] cake-baking skills!

But for Father’s Day this year (an occasion that would typically necessitate a cake by my standards), my Dad specifically requested a pie.  A fruit pie to be exact.

I couldn’t decide between a key lime pie and a strawberry pie…so I made both.

I used Pioneer Woman’s recipe for Key Lime Pie (Sorta), which was good, but the Strawberry Pie – an adaptation from about 4 or 5 different recipes – really “took the cake”.

 

FOR THE CRUST, I found this basic recipe on allrecipes.com.  Aside from using butter-flavored shortening and adding a couple tablespoons of sugar, I followed this recipe exactly, and it turned out great.  I even did a lattice top (and considering it was my first time, it didn’t look too bad)!

 Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

2 tablespoons sugar

2/3 cup butter-flavored shortening

6 tablespoons ice-cold water

Instructions:

1. Mix flour, salt, and sugar in a large bowl.  Cut in shortening with a pastry cutter until the mixture is blended and crumbly.

2. Mix in water, 1 tablespoon at a time, with a fork.

3. Divide the dough into 2 balls, and roll each out into a circle 1 inch larger than the inverted pie plate.

4. Place one circle of dough into pie plate.  Add the filling.  For lattice top, cut remaining circle of dough into strips and make weave pattern on top of filling.  Cut off excess crust around edges. Fold under excess dough so that it is even with the edge of the pie plate.  Seal and flute the edges of the crust with a fork.  Brush top of crust with milk and sprinkle with sugar before baking,

 

FOR THE FILLING, I combined several recipes, all the while hoping and praying that even with my lack of pie-making experience, the combination would work out okay…and I’m happy to report that it did!

Ingredients: 

2 pounds of strawberries, cut into large chunks

1 ¼ cups sugar (or more/less depending on sweetness of fruit)

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon cornstarch

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon (could add more to taste)

2 tablespoons butter

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Mix together sugar, flour, cornstarch, and cinnamon.  Mix lightly with strawberries.

3. Let filling sit for 30 minutes before adding to crust.

4. Once filling is in the crust, dot the fruit with butter.

5. Cover with lattice strips (see #4 from the crust instructions).

6. Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until crust is slightly brown.

 

Serve warm with vanilla ice cream and enjoy!

One thought on “Strawberry Pie

Comments are closed.