Banana Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

Last week, I was on a mission to find smoothie recipes so that I could live off of “liquid food” while my mouth recovered from the shock [read: pain] of new brackets on my back teeth.

At some point in the midst of my smoothie search on allrecipes.com, I came across this recipe for Banana Bars, which led me to this recipe for Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting.  I honestly can’t remember how I found the recipe or why I decided to make it (especially considering that I would typically just make banana bread muffins with any extra bananas on hand), but I’m SO glad I did.  On both accounts!

This recipe, which is somewhere between a banana cake and a banana bread, is simply amazing!  And bonus, it gets even better after taking up residence in the fridge for a few days.

Banana Bars

Ingredients:

½ cup butter, softened

1 ½ cups white sugar

2 eggs

1 cup sour cream

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

¼ teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups mashed bananas

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease 10×15 inch pan.

2. Cream together butter and sugar until smooth.  Beat in the eggs, one at a time, and then stir in the sour cream and vanilla.

3. Add flour, baking soda, and salt and stir into batter (I actually beat it on low for about a minute). Then add the mashed bananas.

4. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean.

5. Cool completely before frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Ingredients:

1 8oz. package cream cheese

1 cup white sugar

1/8 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 ½ cups heavy whipping cream

Instructions:

1. Beat whipping cream until stiff peaks form; set aside.

2. Combine cream cheese, sugar, salt, and vanilla.  Beat until smooth (this may take a little time, but it WILL get smooth).

3. Fold in whipped cream to cream cheese mixture.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Banana Bars with Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Pam

    Vicki Gladson used to make something like this, with mini chocolate chips added. YUM! I just may have to give this a try.

Comments are closed.