A Challenging Question

Where are you with the Lord?

Not, what are you doing for the Lord?  Not, what Bible Study are you currently involved in?  Not, what ministries are you serving with?

Where are you with the Lord?

 

 

A wise woman asked me this question several months ago, and I have been asking the same question of myself over and over again ever since.

I often find myself so caught up with the ultimately insignificant (but sometimes overwhelming) details of life…

that I may keep up with my Bible Study,

and I may keep up with the prayer requests listed in the notebook on my bedside table,

and I may be involved in several areas of service,

and I may not appear any different for a while…

but then all of a sudden I find myself exhausted.  And it becomes obvious that I’ve been running on fumes because my relationship with the Lord (that intimate, personal, at-a-coffee-shop-with-a-friend relationship) has been seriously neglected.

So as a way to hold myself accountable to the priority of my personal relationship with the Lord and to honestly examine where I stand with Him before I become far too exhausted and far too spiritually empty, I have made an almost daily habit of asking myself this question:

Where are you with the Lord?

This question has challenged me beyond what I ever realized one simple question could.  And as I have been pondering over these last few months how to best address the question (and subsequent questions that inevitably follow…), I have been drawn to the following truth that is also echoed repeatedly throughout the Psalms:

“This Book of the Law shall not depart from your mouth,

but you shall meditate on it day and night,

so that you may be careful to do according to all that is written in it.

For then you will make your way prosperous,

and then you will have good success.”

Joshua 1:8 (English Standard Version – emphasis added)

Where I am with the Lord is most often directly related to my intake of and dependence upon the truths in His Word.

Where are YOU with the Lord?

How do you hold yourself accountable to consistency and depth in your relationship with Him?

One thought on “A Challenging Question

  1. Kelly

    This was a wonderful devotion and a wonderful question! A while ago a woman told me that we have to pay attention to where we are being “driven” and where we are being “drawn”. I have currently been facing so many “forks in the road” of life and have had many decisions to make. I have been very careful to listen to God’s guidance seeking where he is “drawing” me to be and not where I am allowing myself to be “driven” by life’s pressures. I work at a church and since I speak to many people concerning spiritual directions it is a constant reminder to myself that I need to constantly take my own advice. This is how I keep myself accountable.

Comments are closed.