Macaroons (aka: The Missing Post)

Remember this letter from exactly two months ago?  The one where I promised five posts that would be coming “soon and very soon”?

Well, as some of you may have noticed (or not…which is totally understandable…it has been two months), I have delivered on four of those five posts to date.  But whatever happened to the coconut macaroons?  The ones that I labeled as the “easiest/fastest dessert ever”?

 

Epic fail.  That’s what happened.

Okay, I suppose “epic” may be a bit harsh.  But seriously, my recent batch of these ridiculously simple treats just didn’t turn out as well as I would have hoped.  Oh, they tasted alright, but the texture was a little off, and the color was not the crisp-white-with-a-few-appropriate-spots-of-toasted-coconut that had resulted from my first successful batch a month earlier. 

But after a midnight brainstorming session with B (my roommate) in which we were both recounting our coconut recipe woes, I feel fairly confident that we uncovered a plausible explanation for the fail(s). 

The reason I attempted this recipe for macaroons in the first place was to use leftover coconut (from another recipe) that had been stored in the fridge for a couple of weeks.  But for this most recent attempt, I opened a brand new bag of coconut that had been stored in the pantry. 

So, it seems that the coconut stored in the fridge (which was probably significantly lacking in moisture compared to its fresh counterpart), may have worked a little better for this particular purpose. 

I intend to make the recipe again to test our theory, but for now, here’s the recipe that I have now used with a 50/50 success rate:

 

Coconut Macaroons

(as adapted from the Baker’s brand coconut bag)

Ingredients:

1 14oz pkg. coconut

2/3 cup sugar

6 tablespoons flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 egg whites

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

 

Instructions:

  1. Mix first four ingredients, then stir in egg whites and vanilla extract until well blended.
  2. Drop by teaspoonfuls onto greased cookie sheet.
  3. Bake at 325 degrees for 20 minutes.
  4. Cool completely on wire racks.

 

3 thoughts on “Macaroons (aka: The Missing Post)

  1. Amy Cook

    These look fabulous and you can make them for me any time! However, do remember that your uncle doesn’t like coconut…. so I get his as well.:)

Comments are closed.