Ginger Cookies

This last week between Christmas and New Year’s has been filled with [what seems like] a whole lot of nothingnessin a good way.

Sure, I celebrated Christmas with and spent plenty time with family, enjoyed a few inches of snow (on Christmas night no less…which is a big deal here in the south), caught up on several items at work, put the Christmas decorations away, cleaned the house from top to bottom, and welcomed the New Year in a wonderfully relaxed way, but really…nothingness.

But before the nothingness began, and before I let a cold get the best of me (seriously, it felt like I slept more in three days than I did the entire month of December…), I made these ginger cookies on Christmas Eve.

I’m a member of the choir at church, and each year, we sing at the Christmas Eve services and have a time of food and fellowship with each other in between services (this year, it happened to be in between the second and third services).  Altos and basses were asked to bring something “sweet” and sopranos and tenors were asked to bring something “salty”, so as an alto, I thought these cookies from my all-time favorite “Christmas Cookies” cookbook (which I was SOO excited to actually find at my parents’ house this year after thinking it was gone forever!) would be a great contribution to the sweet side.

Although they are in a Christmas cookbook, I tend to think these cookies are great all winter (maybe even all year…) long!  The recipe in the book indicates a yield of 7 dozen, but I don’t think I’ve ever gotten more than 3-4 dozen.  Apparently I prefer larger cookies…

Ingredients:

¾ cup shortening

1 cup sugar

1 egg

¼ cup molasses

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking soda

2 teaspoons salt

1 tablespoon ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Additional sugar

 

Instructions: 

  1. Cream shortening, and then gradually add sugar, beating until light and fluffy.  Add egg and molasses, and beat well.
  2. Combine flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, and cinnamon in a separate bowl, then add to creamed mixture.  Mix well.
  3. Shape dough into 1-inch balls and roll in additional sugar.
  4. Place balls 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.
  5. Bake at 350 degrees for 8-10 minutes (even if they don’t look quite done, it’s best to remove them at 8 minutes…you don’t want to over-bake them).
  6.  Cool on cookie sheets for 5 minutes, and then remove them to wire racks to cool completely.

 

Happy New Year!

2 thoughts on “Ginger Cookies

Comments are closed.