Immeasurably More

It had been one of those days.  I had worked hard, but by the end of the day, I felt as though I had nothing to show for it.

 

 

I may have…

completed paperwork for a new settled case or two,

addressed a few unexpected issues on existing cases,

input new cases into the database,

reviewed draft documents in a timely manner,

answered numerous emails,

and made a significant dent in the inbox on my desk.

 

But in my assessment of the day’s productiveness, I completely overlooked all of that. Because I had barely scratched the surface of cases that I had scheduled for follow-up on that day, and several items on my “to-do” list were only halfway done.

It was almost as if because I couldn’t quantify the work I had done (by my own self-imposed and rather meaningless standards of crossing an item off an arbitrary list), then it didn’t matter.

But I tried to convince myself that although I couldn’t measure it according to my less-than-ideal standards, the clearly evident work was no less significant. . .in fact, I may have accomplished even more than I had initially planned.

And that’s when it struck me.

It’s the same with God’s love, with God’s truth, and with God Himself.

 

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power

through his Spirit in your inner being,

so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith.

And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power,

together with all the saints, to grasp

how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ,

and to know this love that surpasses knowledge – that you

may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to do

immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine,

according to his power that is at work within us, to him be glory in the church

and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

Ephesians 3:16-21 (NIV – emphasis added)

 

I can’t measure God by my less-than-ideal human standards.

But I can clearly see His evidence. . .evidence which far surpasses my expectations and imagination.

And I can know HE IS.

Measuring my productiveness on a purely list-based, quantifiable, good-for-my-resume basis doesn’t work.

Measuring God’s love and ability on my limited human basis doesn’t work either.

It will always come up short.

Because God is so. much. immeasurably. more.

