Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

As is fairly well documented by this coconut cake (which happens to be the cake I made for Easter last year) and this strawberry pie (one of two pies I made for Father’s Day), when my family gathers for holidays or special occasions, I typically bring the dessert.

 This Easter was no different.

 When I first approached my mom about bringing a dessert for Easter dinner this year, I had no clue what I wanted to make.  I typically enjoy making cakes, but as I searched through some of my favorite recipe sites and blogs, finding several cakes that looked great and very Easter-appropriate, I ultimately discovered that I had a taste for something different this year.

I kept coming back to this recipe for Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie.

But every time I considered it I thought, “Peanut butter pie doesn’t seem very Easter-y. And who makes pie on Easter anyways?  The flavors aren’t right.  And it’s too rich.  My parents are NOT going to think this is a good idea.”

But I still wanted it.

So on the Thursday before Easter, I called my mom to see if she might possibly be sorta interested in peanut butter pie for dessert. And much to my surprise, our conversation went something like this:

 Me: So I’ve been thinking about Sunday. Could I maybe make peanut butter pie for dessert…?

Mom: Em! I just told your Dad that I had a craving for peanut butter pie! That sounds perfect!

Me: Really?  Weird.  Are you sure? I mean, peanut butter pie doesn’t seem like a very Easter-worthy dessert?

Mom: Why not? We think of Reeses Peanut Butter Eggs around Easter.

Me: Good point. Peanut butter pie it is.

So, peanut butter pie it was…

Ingredients for Crust:

25 whole oreos

4 tablespoons butter, melted

Ingredients for Filling:

1 cup creamy peanut butter

1 package (8oz.) softened cream cheese

1 1/4 cups powdered sugar

1 package (80z.) cool whip, thawed

Instructions:

  1. For the crust, crush oreos until fine (a food processor is preferable for this process…if you don’t have one, go search in your parents garage and they may have one they’re not using!). Pour melted butter over crumbs and stir with fork to combine. Press into pie pan and bake at 350 degrees for about 5 minutes (just until set). Cool completely.
  2. For the filling, beat the peanut butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add powdered sugar and beat until smooth. Then add the cool whip and beat until smooth.
  3. Pour filling into crust and chill for at least an hour (longer is better…overnight is perfect).

(I have no idea what happened here…ha! Enjoy!)

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Pie

  1. Pam

    YUM! Peanut butter…chocolate…what could be better?! I had to laugh when my kids brought in my “teacher appreciation” treats. Peanut butter M&M’s, Reese’s, Lindt’s peanut butter truffles…think my kids know me?

Comments are closed.