The Best Kind of Exhausted

“You [Lord] stir man to take pleasure in praising you, because you have made us for yourself, and our heart is restless until it rests in you.”
– St. Augustine

 

 
I am exhausted.
 
After months (for some, even years) of much prayer, planning, and preparation, my church choir spent this past weekend rehearsing, recording, and re-recording a live worship album for the purpose of equipping those within our congregation, missionaries across the world, and persons we probably have yet to envision with a sampling of the music that has been significant in the life of the church, so that they may worship and proclaim the truth of Jesus Christ along with us. 
 
Even from my rather small position as a second-row alto singing in between two basses in a choir of 100+ people serving alongside a large team cconsisting of tech experts, a talented orchestra, a children’s choir and a youth choir (bringing the total number of participants close to 300), it was quite an amazing experience of unashamed, powerful, passionate, sing-your-heart-out sort of worship that spanned several hours. . .even days.
 
And although this morning in the aftermath my eyes may be heavy, my body may feel fatigued, and my spirit may be weary, my heart is anything but restless.
 
Yes, I am exhausted.
 
But it’s the best kind of exhausted as my heart – my very being –  has been refreshed and satisfied in a way that can only be attributed to the power of the Holy Spirit.

 
“Oh, my hope is in the Lord, forevermore…”

One thought on “The Best Kind of Exhausted

  1. Carole Huck

    You express yourself so well!! Know that you must be feeling exhausted with the hours of advance preparations, but it was a wonderful tribute to the Holy God as we worshipped with all the talented musicians. Thanks for taking us one step closer to our Living God through the powerful words and music. Hope to see you soon:). Love you…

Comments are closed.