Prevailing Purpose

“Many are the plans in the mind of a man,

but it is the purpose of the LORD that will stand.”

Proverbs 19:21 (ESV – emphasis added)

 

 

I wanted it to be a good fit.  But I don’t know if it ever really was.

I wanted to love it.  But I don’t know if I ever really did.

I wanted it to work out.  But I don’t know if it ever really could have.

I wanted it to be a success.  But in this moment, failure somehow seems strangely sweeter.

 

It was a good thing…but that didn’t necessarily make it the right thing…and it is finished…and I am done.

 

Yet even through the lingering daze and numbness, even through the ache of a dream unrealized, even through the late evening hour doubts that threaten to creep in, I know a peace, a calm, a freedom from a burden that I didn’t even realize I had been carrying.

 

It took many road blocks – many small steps in a slightly different direction along the way – to reach a place where it became apparent that a completely different direction was being asked of me.

It required sacrifice – of the one thing that I thought I wanted the most – to see a different plan begin to emerge.

 

HIS plan, perhaps?

 

“The LORD will fulfill his purpose for me;

your steadfast love, O LORD, endures forever. 

Do not forsake the work of your hands.”

Psalm 138:8 (ESV – emphasis added)

4 thoughts on “Prevailing Purpose

  1. Pingback: {Day 1} 31 Days to Better Understand our {God Given} Callings | The Inner Harbor

  2. Pingback: {Day 28} Security | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.