Happy Father’s Day

Since I should now be in Greece, we celebrated Father’s Day last weekend.  And yes, I did make a cake…a yummy pound cake with fresh strawberries!

 

 

But in honor of his day, I would like to take a moment to recognize my Dad’s fatherly wisdom (or at least a few of my favorite sayings):

  1. All your life, stuff happens.
  2. It’s a full time job keeping up with your own business.
  3. It takes money to drink whiskey and ride the train.

Okay, so that last one may have come from my grandfather…maybe even my great-grandfather…but it makes the point and makes me smile.

 

Dad, thank you for your wisdom, for imparting Biblical knowledge that I don’t get anywhere else (most notably, for making me aware of the great speckled bird), for introducing me to high quality music (“Jesus on the Mainline” comes to mind among others), and for generally putting up with me.

 

Happy Father’s Day!!

