Jet Lagged and Processing…

My body may still be slightly fatigued from jet lag and my mind may still be processing the experiences of the past few weeks…but today…I am grateful.

Grateful for the opportunity to walk in Paul’s footsteps throughout Greece (and Ephesus), grateful for the prayers that surrounded the trip, grateful for the courage to take a risk, grateful for the perseverance to see it through, grateful for the renewed longing and love for Scripture, grateful for the conviction to more passionately pursue and imitate Christ, and grateful for a wonderful couple who, through their faithfulness to God’s calling in the founding of Footstep Ministries, made this experience possible.

As I continue to edit my photos and read through my written thoughts concerning my experiences in Greece while studying Paul’s New Testament Letters, I find my words to be empty…lacking…inadequate.

Yet in some seemingly futile attempt to transition slowly back to routine, to consider the richness of my experiences, to acknowledge the growth and change from all that I saw and heard in such a short time, I am reminded of the question I found myself pondering as we hiked down from John’s grotto on the Island of Patmos.

After walking through (and singing in) the cave where Orthodox tradition indicates John received his vision, then sitting in a nearby amphitheater overlooking the harbor area as our professor outlined the powerful details and themes of the book of Revelation where that vision is recorded, on the way back to the tender boats that would take us back to the cruise ship, my question was this:

How do I come back from that place of reflection and make sense of the routine?

And although the routine no longer involves deciding which buffet to try for dinner, in essence, in this moment the question remains the same.

In some ways, I already know that the visits to Biblical and historical sites were humbling and inspiring, that I will never read certain passages of Scripture the same again, and that I am forever changed. Still in other ways, it seems that recognizing and processing the true impact of these experiences has only just begun. . .

