Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream

If you follow me on Pinterest

…and if you’re on Pinterest, you should, but if you’re not on Pinterest, you should probably keep it that way because it has this way of making you lose all track of time and neglect your responsibilities…

but wait, where was I?

Oh yes, if you follow me on Pinterest, you know that although I do have several boards, I mostly pin home decor ideas and recipes.

So on one of my first days on Pinterest, I came across this recipe that claimed ice cream could be made out of only two ingredients: frozen bananas and peanut butter.

Now, while I do pin a lot of recipes that ultimately end up forgotten, I was so intrigued that I had to make this immediately. As in, that very night.

I sliced up two frozen bananas,

opened a brand new jar of peanut butter,

put the bananas in the food processor and added a tablespoon of milk (although this is a slight deviation from the original recipe, I found the milk necessary to compensate for the small-and-stolen-from-my-parents-garage food processor),

pulsed the bananas until they were smooth,

and then added a large spoonful of peanut butter (honestly, I didn’t measure, but I’m guessing it was in the ballpark of 2 tablespoons) and pulsed until well blended.

And then I nearly panicked when I thought that I didn’t have any chocolate chips left. But then I remembered (and said of prayer of thanksgiving) that my roommate has been on a baking kick and is well stocked in the chocolate chip department.

This peanut butter banana ice cream was so simple and so creamy and so refreshing and so good!

It’s the prefect late-summer evening treat.

Do you have a favorite simple summer treat?

3 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream

  1. Kelly

    This may be something that I actually could make!!! ; 0…..; )…..favorite simple summer treat…..hmmmmmmm…….a mini blizzard from Dairy Queen (LOL)….flavor….French Silk Pie….Excellent!!!

Comments are closed.