He Must Become Greater

I can neither confirm nor deny that a series of devotion posts regarding God’s call(s) on our lives may or may not be forthcoming (ps: that series can be found here). . .

What I can say is this. I have been wrestling with the concept of discerning God’s callings, the definition of ministry, and the reality of gospel-centered missions.

But every time I think that I may be getting closer to a destination – to a place of peace and understanding in my thought processes – I find that the questions simply begin all over again and I am thrown back into a place of doubt, uncertainty, and (if I’m being really honest) fear.

The type of fear that says no matter how hard I’m desperately seeking after the Lord, I still can’t clearly see His direction.

The type of fear that reveals no matter how much I long to follow the Lord, I still often operate from a place of spiritual laziness.

The type of fear that confirms no matter how much I may think otherwise, there is so much that I don’t know about effectively imitating Christ in my everyday life.

Yet in the midst of the struggle, the questions, the fear, one truth seems to resound loud and clear. In the words of John the Baptist speaking of Jesus Christ:

“He must become greater; I must become less.” – John 3:30 (NIV)

2 thoughts on “He Must Become Greater

Comments are closed.