Quitter and Third World Symphony

A book (“Quitter”) and an album (“Third World Symphony”).

They both sorta rocked my world last week.

Not so much in a totally-shocking-and-earth-shattering sort of way. . .more in a subtly-confident-and-full-of-affirming-truth sort of way.

And I think its because of that confident truth that they are both leaving such a huge impact in their wake.

1. “Quitter” by Jon Acuff.

Subtitled, “Closing the gap between your day job and your dream job,” in this book Jon Acuff explains how to do just that.

I have followed his blog Stuff Christians Like for a while now, and find it ridiculously entertaining (not to mention his Serious Wednesday posts are often far too convicting), so when he announced “Quitter” was being released, I was excited by the concept and immediately ordered a copy. Then everything in life seemed to change rapidly and I didn’t have much time for reading, so the book proceeded to end up in my to-read-later stack.

But because I had to spend all day Tuesday going back and forth between the orthodontist and the dentist (which inevitably leads to significant time spent in waiting rooms), I decided it would be a perfect opportunity to pick it up and begin reading. And then I couldn’t put it down.  Okay, well technically I did have to put it down a few times, but I read through it in three days.

SO GOOD.

It was as if Jon had eavesdropped on all of my regularly occurring internal dialogue regarding jobs/dreams/goals/plans, wrote it all down, organized it into a logical sequence, gave it all a healthy dose of perspective, and then challenged me to do something with it.

It just flat out made sense. And it was practical. No, he didn’t come right out and say what you should be doing with your life (and for that I’m grateful…that’s asking entirely too much from a book), but he somehow managed to remove the scary part from taking a risk – and even potential failure – and made achieving a dream seem possible

And bonus, his writing style is fabulous – he’s hysterical and has the best stories.

Get this book and read it. You will not be sorry.

2. “Third World Symphony” by Shaun Groves.

In addition to being a singer/songwriter and working with Compassion International, Shaun Groves is a wonderful writer. I have also followed his blog for a while and constantly find my faith being both renewed and stretched by his words that speak openly and honestly, his heart for people, and his passion for sharing the hope and love of Christ.

I purchased Third World Symphony as soon as it released on iTunes on August 30th. I listened to it then. I’ve listened to it several times since then. And I’m listening to it [again] now.

It’s truly amazing.

From the theology and deep truth wrapped up in simple-yet-packed lyrics to the acoustic melodies. . .it’s different. it’s real. it’s life. it’s truth. it’s humble. it’s grace. it’s kingdom. it’s Gospel. it’s Christ.

But you don’t really have to take my word for it. Check out the Third World Symphony Blog Tour and see what others are saying. See Shaun himself on video – at A Holy Experience with Ann Voskamp and Chatting at the Sky with Emily Freeman among others – as he dialogues, explains, answers questions, and sings.

Listen to this album and be blessed.

Shaun-Groves-Third-World-Symphony-iTunes-banner-200x200

**disclaimer: i was not asked to write about either the book or the album and am not receiving anything for recommending either one…i just happen to think they are both awesome and life-changing**

3 thoughts on “Quitter and Third World Symphony

  1. Pingback: {Giveaway} Grace for the Good Girl | The Inner Harbor

  2. Pingback: 10 Most Played Worship Songs on My iTunes | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.