Paint Party!

As planned, I spent all day Saturday prepping and painting the soon-to-be-ridiculously-amazing-office-and-writing-space.

It only took eight hours, four movies (A Few Good Men, Kate & Leopold, Cool Runnings, and The Parent Trap), two coats of paint, and one broken roller.

I seriously spent about half the time painting scared to death that the color was still too pink. It’s not that I have anything against the color pink, but it wasn’t really what I was going for on my walls.

So I went back and forth between saying “I’m afraid this is too pink” and “I’m afraid I’m a really bad painter” to which my roommate would respond “I’m afraid I’m going to have to call you a scaredy-cat” to which I would answer “I might have to agree”.

The final color was called “tattered sail,” and while I’m still not convinced it’s the perfect shade, it will do. Typing that just made me think of this line from the movie, Babe: “That’ll do pig. That’ll do.” ha!

Moral to this story: I’m not sure you should let me choose your paint color or paint your walls. Even if I end up choosing a satisfactory color and the paint job looks great in the end, I might doubt myself the entire 8 hours its going on the walls…

By the end of the day, I probably had as much paint on me as the walls (maybe that’s why I almost ran out…). Seriously, from my head to my toes. I would show you my paint-highlighted hair or the paint that managed to splatter on my lips (how does that even happen?), but trust me, it’s better that you not be subjected to that.

Overall, I’m actually quite pleased with the way the paint job turned out. My edges actually look straight and the color is much less pink than I had feared.

So, I would call that a success and one more step completed.

Up next: the furniture!

3 thoughts on “Paint Party!

Comments are closed.