{Giveaway} Grace for the Good Girl

**10.06.11 Update: The winner (selected completely at random by a third party at 12:03 am) is … Carole Huck! Congratulations, Carole! Check your email for details. For everyone else who entered, thank you for leaving a comment! I still highly recommend this book to you, and it can be found here.**

My name is Emily, and I am a good girl.

“Grace for the Good Girl: Letting go of the Try Hard Life” by Emily P. Freeman.

I can’t fully express in words the impact and awesomeness of this book. If Jon Acuff got inside my head, than Emily Freeman (who also blogs here) got inside my heart and wrote the words that I had only wrestled with as concepts under the cover of darkness – many of which hadn’t yet been formed into coherent thoughts and hadn’t yet been reached with Truth.

From page one, I identified closely with the perfectionist mentality of the good girl. And as I continued to read, struggling between the desire to read slowly to soak in every word and the desire to read quickly to embrace the entirety of the message, I knew that this book would lead me to more deeply experience Grace because this book would remind me of and lead me to the truth and freedom in Christ.

To be honest, by chapter two, I didn’t know for sure that I could handle going on. I found myself becoming defensive – even a little raw – as Emily’s words, beautifully intertwined with Scripture, proved to be challenging, convicting, and exposing. I had assumed going into this book that it would affirm much of what the Lord had already begun to reveal in me, but it went so much further beyond what I had expected. In a good way. In a soul-satisfying way. Although challenging, the tone is never threatening, but rather always inviting. And the message is centered on Jesus Christ.

“Jesus is the radical, absolutely complete, living answer to all our if-onlys and if-I-could-justs. His unwavering, unchanging, unconditional love and acceptance of us is what we are really looking for.” (p. 215)

Even the questions at the end of each chapter are well-written, piercing, and enhance the message. Sometimes I read books in which the questions seem completely irrelevant, but I somehow feel compelled to come up with answers anyways. This book isn’t like that. The questions are honest and revealing, and the answers flow freely from my heart and my mind.

Resting on the foundation of Scripture, this book is life-changing because this book points again and again to the One who changes lives.

And it’s for that reason that I’m giving away

a copy of “Grace for the Good Girl” today.

To enter for a chance to win, all you have to do is leave a comment below (just be sure you leave a valid email address). You can tell me why you would like to read this book, your favorite flavor of ice cream, the last time you went to the beach, or just say hello.

For an additional chance to win, you can also subscribe to my blog via email (see sidebar to the right) OR via a feed reader, and leave a separate comment telling me you’ve done so (and yes, even if you’ve been subscribed for a while, you can still leave this additional comment).

You can comment until midnight next Wednesday (October 5, 2011). The winner will be chosen randomly and will be announced/contacted next Thursday (October 6, 2011).

**disclaimer: i was not asked to review this book or give away a copy. i just strongly believe the message is worth sharing. oh, and come back this saturday as i begin the new series 31 days to better understand our {God given} callings**

19 thoughts on “{Giveaway} Grace for the Good Girl

  1. Debbie

    Fascinating title. I spent my entire life, desperately trying to move mistake free, always being good, but never good enough. I was a believer, saved by works instead of grace. You’re blessed to have found grace at such a young age. Good for you and God bless!

  2. Dana

    It sounds like the book was challenging, making you really think. I am looking for a book that will challenge me. I’m in between books right now – and this sounds like a good one that will help me grow.
    Also, my favorite ice cream flavor depends on the brand and where i’m at geographically. For instance, in MI, my favorite flavor is Mackinac Island Fudge. In Cleveland, it’s Handel’s spouse like a house. If I’m eating Ben & Jerry’s, it’s Chunky Monkey. If I’m eating Haagen Dazs, it’s Mayan Chocolate…though sadly that was a special edition flavor and now only available by the case (yes, I have checked into this). I am a firm believer that good, quality ice cream can make a bad day good. You can’t be grumpy when eating ice cream! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Malisa

    Thank you for writing such a great review on this book. I’ve seen it at a few other places online, but your post is the first one that wrote about the impact the boil had on you.

  4. Lisa Littlewood

    ahhhh….grace….something God has been showing me a LOT about now that I am a mom to two preschoolers!!! Looks like a wonderful, heart changing book that I’d love to read… my favorite flavor of ice cream is panda paws!!!

  5. Debbie

    Since I keep getting directed to your blog, I suppose I’ll just go ahead and join. Looking forward to reading you more regularly now.

  6. alissa gladson

    Emily: Saw this through yours and Bethany’s facebook pages… It sounds like an awesome book! And my bible study group is in the process of choosing a new study- this may be it… Hope you and your family are doing well!!!

  7. Carol McMillan

    Does this book address those that say “My name is not Emily and I try to meet the expectations others have of me (not to mention my perfectionistic expectations) of being a good girl on the outside and yet cry out to God on the inside because I find myself constantly failing to meet human expectations and much more so God’s standard of perfection without His abundant measure of grace”?

  8. Carole Huck

    How can I ever write anything worth reading on such an expressive blog??….. I am intrigued with all you post…..most of all your heart and how it is in tune with our God. Yes, I would love to read the book – and know I would have opportunities to share with those I love!!!

  9. Rebekah

    Just want to cover all my bases here. Leave it to me to enter the giveaway on the last day!

    I’d like to read this book because I’m not sure if I’m a “good girl” or not. I think that I am if I’m comparing myself with other people, but when it comes right down to it, I take great joy in being mischievous…but perhaps I even do that in a good girl way…?

    My favorite ice cream is Ben & Jerry’s Chocolate Fudge Brownie. Does it make me a neurotic good girl if I can’t even think about straying from chocolate.

    (I’m furiously writing this from my phone, so any typos I blame on Autocorrect.)

    The last time I went to the beach I got caught in a torrential downpour. Had I not though, I wouldn’t have gotten some of the awesome photos that I did.

    And I just want to say hello, but in Spanish. “Hola.”

  10. Megan

    I’m new to your blog and have enjoyed browsing and reading older posts. I’d love to win this book. Have a great day!

  11. Pingback: I Fall So Short | The Inner Harbor

    1. Emily Post author

      Thanks so much for stopping by and for taking the time to say hey! I’m so glad you’re liking it and hope it’s a place of encouragement. Looking forward to connecting with you more around here. Blessings!

Comments are closed.