{Day 2} By Whom

“Woe to the one who quarrels with his Maker — An earthenware vessel among the vessels of earth!

Will the clay say to the potter, ‘What are you doing?’

Or the thing you are making say, ‘He has no hands?'”

Isaiah 45:9 (NASB)

As I mentioned yesterday in my introduction to this 31 Days series, about the only thing I haven’t questioned in the last several months regarding calling is by whom. So although the aim of the next 31 days is to better understand our {God given} callings and the discussion will mostly revolve around the specifics of those callings, let’s first consider this perspective…

Perhaps our calling is less about the what and more about the Who.

Perhaps our calling looks less like a detailed plan or lifelong ‘to-do’ list and more like standing before the Sovereign Lord – our Maker, the Potter – with willing hearts, open hands, and surrendered lives.

Perhaps our calling is less about the burden of discerning exactly what we are to accomplish in this life and more about trusting the Lord to fill us, use us, and mold us according to His plan in His time.

We are simply the vessel – the clay.

He is the one who forms us, fills us, and guides us – the Potter.

5 thoughts on “{Day 2} By Whom

  1. Debbie

    In my devotional time this morning, He brought to mind a hymn. The lyrics are repeated, but here are the words.

    Spirit of the Living God, fall fresh on me.
    Melt me, mold me, fill me, use me.

    Your words were too similar for me not to see the similarities. We are indeed to be His vessels, formed by His hands to His specifications, to be used for His purposes. Alleluia!

  2. Pingback: {Day 28} Security | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.