{Day 3} What Does it Mean to be Called?

Although it would be great if I could provide a deeply researched, highly theological, perfectly worded definition in this space for what it means to be called, I cannot. I wouldn’t even know where to begin. Instead, I will suggest three simple elements of any {God Given} call. In essence, when we are called. . .

We are invited into an eternal reality.

“For this reason He is the mediator of a new covenant, so that, since a death has taken place for the redemption of the transgressions that were committed under the first covenant, those who have been called may receive the promise of the eternal inheritance.” – Hebrews 9:15 (NASB)

We are set apart for an eternal purpose.

“But we should always give thanks to God for you, brethren beloved by the Lord, because God has chosen you from the beginning for salvation through sanctification by the Spirit and faith in the truth. It was for this He called you through our gospel, that you may gain the glory of our Lord Jesus Christ.” – 2 Thessalonians 2:13-14 (NASB)

We are sent out with an eternal message.

“Go therefore and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” – Matthew 28:19-20 (NASB)

2 thoughts on “{Day 3} What Does it Mean to be Called?

  1. Emily Post author

    I’m not sure if I’m called to go somewhere in terms of vocational ministry, but I’m certainly compelled by the Biblical imperative to go and to live a life worthy of the Gospel!

Comments are closed.