{Day 9} In Him All Things Hold Together

“He [Christ] is before all things, and in him all things hold together.”

– Colossians 1:17 (NIV)

I fear being wrong. The perfectionist side of me wants to get things right before I even begin. When it comes to decision making, I strive to be rational, logical, and confident … I long to plan for all contingencies, to be prepared for any challenges, to have it all together.

Especially when it comes to something as significant and eternal as hearing God’s voice and discerning His specific calling for my life.

But the God of the Universe – the Creator, the Savior, the Sustainer – hasn’t asked me to bear such a heavy burden. He hasn’t given me the responsibility of never being wrong. He hasn’t required me to approach my calling from a place of perfect knowledge. And He certainly doesn’t depend on me to hold it all together.

In stark contrast to such a notion, He has asked me to release the burden, to place my confidence in Christ alone, to accept the grace He freely offers when I get it wrong, and to trust in the sufficiency of Him who calls … for “in Him all things hold together”.

One thought on “{Day 9} In Him All Things Hold Together

  1. Pingback: “With Me” | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.