{Day 18} A Call to … Sugar Cookies?

**i originally posted this recipe for “Big Soft Sugar Cookie Cakes” on 3.15.11, and it actually has little nothing to do with callings, but i’ve been traveling for business for the past couple of days, i’m exhausted, these cookies have totally been calling to me (ha!), and who says we can’t take a one day break from the series anyways, right? considering our {God Given} callings will resume tomorrow…**

Any post that begins with a title like that and a picture of rainbow sprinkles can NOT be bad, right?

Especially when it’s followed by an announcement like this:

Sunday (March 13th) marked this here blog’s first anniversary!

In honor of the occasion, I celebrated by making a batch of these amazing sugar cookies that I used to make all. the. time. in college, but for some reason haven’t made in over four years.

And then in good slacker blogger fashion, I promptly got busy with life and failed to post about either the blog’s milestone or the cookie recipe.

But.

I can assure you that the recipe for these cookies was worth the “belated anniversary post” wait.

When I made these cookies in college and took them into work, one of my managers tried to convince me to go into the cookie-making business and sell them at the mall (maybe I missed my calling. . .), and when I made them on Sunday, B may have used the words “fluffy clouds” to describe their goodness.

Because, yes, they really are that good!

Ingredients:

1 cup butter

2 ½ cups sugar

2 eggs

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla

5 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 can vanilla frosting (I use whipped white frosting)

Rainbow sprinkles

Instructions:

  1. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar, then beat in eggs and vanilla.
  2. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and baking soda.  Stir into the sugar mixture alternately with the milk.
  3. Drop by heaping tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets (space at least 3 inches apart so cookies have plenty of room to spread).
  4. Bake at 375 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until light brown.
  5. Remove from cookies sheets to cool on wire racks.
  6. When completely cool, frost the cookies and decorate with rainbow sprinkles.

