The Most Adorable Conversation

As I mentioned in my previous post, I had the most adorable conversation with one of the just-turned-three-year-old little guys in my preschool class on Sunday morning.

At the end of the hour, since a few of the kids had already been picked-up, my co-teacher’s husband joined us in the room, so little guy was trying to figure out who he was. Mrs. D eventually told little guy that she was the mommy and her husband was the daddy.

Little guy understood that just fine, but then he gave me a quizzical glance as if he was trying to figure out how I fit into the whole equation. He pointed to me and asked something to the effect of “With her?” that communicated quite clearly he was trying to place me as their daughter.

So after we explained to him that I have a different mommy and daddy, he looked at me and said, “Will you go home with your mommy?”

While still cleaning up blocks and train tracks, I answered him and said, “No, I don’t live with my mommy anymore.”

He looked confused for a second, but then jumped right back in with the next logical (at least in his three-year-old mind) question, “Are you a mommy?”

I paused for a moment, but simply responded, “No, I’m not a mommy. It’s just me.”

And now enter the sweetest most troubled expression on little guy’s face. It was precious! He was seriously concerned that not only did I not live with my mommy, I wasn’t a mommy either.

Recognizing that explaining being single would be nearly impossible and in an attempt to ease little guy’s mind, Mrs. D asked if I was a sister to which I said, “Yep, I sure am a sister!”

Well, little guy was all shades of relieved to hear that! I mean, you could literally see the worry melt off his face as he happily returned to playing with a train and a magnifying glass until his mommy came. Ha!

So there you have it. Apparently in the preschool world, if you don’t live with your mommy and you aren’t a mommy, being a sister is just as good.

4 thoughts on “The Most Adorable Conversation

  1. Leslie Gallimore

    What a fabulous anecdote!!! Little children are so delightful. Oh, yes, and the picture—-absolutely adorable children!!!

Comments are closed.