2nd Annual Cookie Exchange & Mrs. Sigg’s Snickerdoodles

On Monday night, I attended the 2nd annual cookie exchange for the women in my Life Group at church. So. much. fun!

These peanut butter reindeer cookies were probably my favorite from the night. Are they not adorable?

(Thanks for the photo, B!)

It’s a rather low-key and informal event that I have thoroughly enjoyed for the past two years. There were 10 of us this year and plenty of tasty cookies. After the cookie exchanging part was complete, we sat around admiring the beautiful Christmas tree, discussing everything from our Christmas (and other upcoming…cruise anyone?) travel plans to our interesting finds on Pinterest as of late, and enjoying the fellowship with one another.

Since the cookie exchange fell on the day right after the Christmas concerts, I knew I wouldn’t have much time for a super involved or complicated cookie, so I decided on a simple classic: the snickerdoodle.

Snickerdoodles have long since been one of my favorite cookies, and they are so quick and easy. With only one minor adjustment, I used the recipe for Mrs. Sigg’s Snickerdoodles that I have used ever since I found it several years ago. And if you’re not already aware, cream of tarter is the one ingredient that sets snickerdoodles apart from all other cookies.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup shortening (butter flavored)

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract (Haitian vanilla is preferred!)

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons cream of tarter

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons white sugar

4 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees (the original recipe calls for 400, but I prefer them at the lower temp).

2. Cream together butter, shortening, sugar, eggs, and vanilla.

3. Blend in the flour, cream of tarter, baking soda, and salt.

4. In a separate bowl, mix the last two ingredients (sugar and cinnamon).

5. Shape dough into approximately 1 inch balls. Then roll balls into the cinnamon and sugar mixture.

6. Place balls 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet and bake 8-10 minutes (on 350 degrees, I find that right at 10 minutes is perfect) until set, but not hard. Remove immediately from cookie sheet.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “2nd Annual Cookie Exchange & Mrs. Sigg’s Snickerdoodles

  1. Kelly, Arte Styling

    Hi, Emily.
    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your lovely comments! Glad you enjoyed the post.

    I absolutely love those cookies – too cute, and so clever!

    Happy Holidays to you. Hope to see you again.

    Kelly

  2. Pingback: day 18: {snickerdoodles} « thefrostedmarshmallow

Comments are closed.