For Glory, We Wait

“For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worth comparing with the glory that is to be revealed to us…And not only the creation, but we ourselves, who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, groan inwardly as we wait eagerly for our adoption as sons, the redemption of our bodies. For in this hope we were saved. Now hope that is seen is not hope. For who hopes for what he sees? But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.”

Romans 8:18, 23-25 – ESV (emphasis added)

I’m slightly embarrassed to admit that I don’t spend much time thinking about heaven. About how beautiful it will be or about how my relationship with the Lord will be there.

Even when I speak of eternal perspective – of choosing to live in such a way that acknowledges the weight of eternal reality and all that entails – I don’t often consider the fullness of the glory that is to be revealed.

I’m even more embarrassed to admit that (especially recently) I am often much more pre-occupied with the reality of hell … of ensuring it is understood as Scriptural truth that cannot be ignored and how that should affect the way I live as a witness to those around me. And while that’s not necessarily bad, it’s simply not enough.

But as this past week’s Bible Study lesson led me to reflect on the perfection of the Garden of Eden – both the physical perfection and the relational perfection – and as I approached Scripture with the challenge of drawing comparisons between the Garden and Heaven, I couldn’t overlook the beauty and the glory that awaits me.

The beauty and fullness of relationship with Him. The glory and richness of being with Him. In His presence. Fully restored. Perfected. Forever.

So for glory, I wait … eagerly and patiently … hoping for what I cannot see.

Praise Him!

 

