How Do You Choose?

There’s not enough positive self-talk in the world to cover this feeling.

Mistakes leave me crippled. Uncertainties leave me paralyzed. Inadequacies leave me empty and ashamed.

I am a failure. I am a hypocrite. I am broken beyond repair.

I have lost this battle.

Yet in a three-day period in which opening The Word seems an impossibility, the Lord is gracious enough to speak truth through music with Biblically grounded and theologically sound lyrics.

“I come broken to be mended, I come wounded to be healed, I come desperate to be rescued, I come empty to be filled. I come guilty to be pardoned by the blood of Christ the Lamb, and I’m welcomed with open arms, praise God, just as I am.” – Just As I Am by Travis Cottrell

And so I choose.

“I lift my hands to believe again. You are my refuge, You are my strength. As I pour out my heart these things I remember. You are faithful God forever. Let faith arise.” – I Lift My Hands by Chris Tomlin

I choose the Faithful One through the failure. I choose surrender through the weakness. I choose faith through the unknown.

I am a worshiper and I am a witness.

I choose Him.

Because He chose me first. Because He is all I have. Because He is.

“Oh, Father, use my ransomed life in any way You choose. And let my song forever be my only boast is You. Hallelujah! All I have is Christ. Hallelujah! Jesus is my life.” – All I Have is Christ by Sovereign Grace Music

How do you choose?

—–

5 thoughts on “How Do You Choose?

  1. simplystriving

    Yes. It is a choice, isn’t it. One we face daily.
    Striving to choose Him over and over again. Because you’re right. He’s all I have. And that’s more than enough.
    Beautiful post, Emily!
    All for Him,
    Nikki

  2. Faith

    Broken, that is the way I have felt today. Thank you for allowing God to minister to me through you today Emily. I can’t wait to share this post with my family at dinner tonight.

    Broken, but mended by His grace.

    Faith

  3. Mary Gandee

    Feeling down today due to sickness running through the house. Hearing God speak through music is soothing to the soul. I sang along with your post s Tomlin is a staple in our home! My house is full of musicians (hubby and 2 sons) and they play on our praise team at church. Worship music is ALWAYS just a click away…it echoes off the walls…calls us to faith and repentance….worship:)

  4. Pingback: For When I am Weak… | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.