Reflecting on The Messiah

As the day approaches, knowing that I hope to somehow express the weight and the glory of this holiest of days, I find myself humbled by my own emptiness.

As I sit with the Lord, pouring out the thoughts and emotions that run deep, I boldly ask Him to clarify the message that He would have me write in this space. I ask that it would be loud and obvious … yet instantly, I know that’s not right.

Today is not a loud day. It is quiet.

“Easter is for shouting. But Good Friday is for not much talking.” – Jon Bloom (Desiring God Blog)

And as I reflect on Christ’s sacrifice in the quietness, all I have is not enough.

Christ gave all. ALL. On that cross.

And in return, all I have is emptiness and brokenness and not enough. Even all of me seems inadequate.

So as I’ve spent a considerable amount of time listening to Handel’s Messiah this week, reflecting on the beauty of the music, but much more so reflecting on the beauty, the weight, the glory of the message, I urge you to reflect with me on HIS words:

Part One

“Every valley shall be exalted, and every mountain and hill made low; the crooked straight, and the rough places plain.” (#3 – Isaiah 40:4)

“And the glory of the Lord shall be revealed, and all flesh shall see it together; for the mouth of the Lord hath spoken it.” (#4 – Isaiah 40:5)

“Behold, a virgin shall conceive, and bear a Son, and shall call his name Emmanuel, God with us.” (#8 – Isaiah 7:14)

“His yoke is easy and His burden is light.” (#21 – Matthew 11:30)

Part Two

“Behold the Lamb of God, that taketh away the sins of the world.” (#22 – John 1:29)

“He was despised and rejected of men: a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief.” (#23  – Isaiah 53:3)

“Surely He hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows; He was wounded for our transgressions; He was bruised for our iniquities; the chastisement of our peace was upon Him.” (#24 – Isaiah 53:4-5)

“And with His stripes we are healed.” (#25 – Isaiah 53:5)

Part Three

“Since by man came death, by man came also the resurrection of the dead. For as in Adam all die, even so in Christ shall all be made alive.” (#46 – 1 Corinthians 15:21-22)

Jesus Christ came … Emmanuel, God with us … as a servant and humbled himself to death on a cross. The ultimate sacrifice. For You. For Me. For All.

He knew the cross would be His cup and He chose it anyway. Because He knew it was the only way.

“The Cross did not happen to Jesus: He came on purpose for it. He is ‘the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world.’ The whole meaning of the Incarnation is the Cross.” – Oswald Chambers

And so although we know that Sunday is near, that the victory has already been won, and that great rejoicing will soon commence, in the quietness of this Good Friday, with a sense of both great hope and deep sorrow, we reflect on The Messiah and on His sacrificial death on the cross … in our place, to cover the sins of this world – our sins – once for all, leaving a veil torn, granting us access to the Father, for our salvation, that through Him we might have life eternal.

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on The Messiah

  1. Pingback: My Redeemer Lives! | The Inner Harbor

  2. Pingback: Tragedy & the Hope of the Gospel | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.