Grace in the Quiet

“Make glad the soul of Your servant, for to You, O Lord, I lift up my soul.

For You, Lord, are good, and ready to forgive, and abundant in lovingkindness to all who call upon You.

Give ear, O LORD, to my prayer; and give heed to the voice of my supplications!”

– Psalm 86:4-6

I love words … reading words, speaking words, hearing words, pondering words, singing words, writing words.

But it seems in the past several days (weeks, even) I have had little energy left for words. In the wake of processing much that can’t be penned publicly {at least not yet}, my own words feel hollow and my brain feels like mush.

I have a list of sermons to be listened to, books to be read, Scriptures to be reflected upon, and experiences to be written about.

But I don’t.

Instead, in the midst of commitments that are good and necessary and rich, I find myself meeting an unspoken need to be quiet. To just be. Abandoning my typical routines, I fill my free hours with long and purposeful walks, music that effortlessly leads into pure worship, and a prayerful soul.

Yet beginning to feel guilty at this unexpected inward turn, my thoughts shift slightly, almost hesitatingly, towards others. Lacking significant will-power to do much else, I simply pray.

And as I spend my time walking and praying and worshiping, as these moments of intercession turn from me, to them, to HIM, I receive this beautiful reminder of Grace in the quiet.

The perfectionist and legalistic side of me is quick to judge all that I am doing wrong and all that I am failing to do.

But this Grace reminds me that it’s much less about doing what I should and much more about being who I am called.

Christ isn’t holding me to a checklist. He’s holding me to a relationship. And maybe this just being … this walking and worshiping … is just part of this season of that relationship.

And even when I fail him, when I stray from making Him the priority, this Grace is still there. Because even in the failure, He’s not after my efforts, He’s after my heart … a heart conformed to His likeness.

This Grace … it does so much more than cover each sin (though it does that perfectly). It leads each moment.

Yes, accountability and consistency and routine are all good, but maybe there’s even more in abandoning the routine from time to time in order to experience this grace anew, afresh, again.

Although serving and doing tends to feel more productive, the just being was absolutely necessary for this reminder. I simply couldn’t hear it through all the doing, but I could experience this Grace in the quiet. In His presence. Focused on His heart.

This Grace … and this Grace Giver … is everything.

“All nations whom You have made shall come and worship before You, O Lord, and they shall glorify Your name.

For You are great and do wondrous deeds; You alone are God.”

– Psalm 86:9-10

6 thoughts on “Grace in the Quiet

  1. rachelgoode

    This is lovely. Quiet is good, even for word-ies like us. 🙂
    (found you through Allume’s writer link up)

  2. Cindee Snider Re

    The quiet is such a rich, deep, expansive, intimate place calling us to abandon our schedules, our words, our side of the conversation and simply “be” — to sit at Jesus’ feet and listen, absorb, be filled. Because yes, “This Grace…and this Grace Giver…is everything.”

    Beautifully written!

  3. Karina

    Loved this post! Time spent being is never wasted…wash, rinse, repeat as necessary 🙂 (found you through Allume – thanks for sharing!)

Comments are closed.