The Back-up Plan

That’s what it is, right? A back-up plan.

The one that’s comforting and secure. Kinda.

The one that makes it a little easier to breathe today. Kinda.

But it’s all wrong.

Oh, the plan is good, and rational, and logical, and makes so much sense.

And yet it completely lacks trust in and dependence on HIM.

The One I read about almost every night in Psalms right now.

“I love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock in who I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.”

– Psalm 18:1-2

My Rock, my Refuge, my Deliverer, my Help.

Yes, this back-up plan, the one born out of hurt and fear and urgency and unknown…

Is really just a lack of trust.

So I surrender {again} to His sovereign plan.

I take up my cross {again} and follow.

Knowing … trusting … that I’ve taken the next small step in obedience and I don’t have to know the rest.

Because He knows the rest … and He’s known it all along.

He alone holds my future, and He knows exactly where I’m headed.

Because He’s the One who established the steps to begin with.

“The steps of a man are established by the Lord, when he delights in His way.”

– Psalm 37:23

And whatever the outcome, whether close to the back-up plan or a world apart, I’ll be placed where He wants me … fully surrendered to Him, asking Him to work in and through me for His fame and for His glory.

His plan is better than my best back-up plan.

Every. Single. Time.

“He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.”

– Psalm 40:2

2 thoughts on “The Back-up Plan

Comments are closed.