Sharing the Fragrance of Christ in Canada

I have some pretty amazing friends who love the Lord something fierce and desire to serve Him…both in their everyday lives and serving in missions…and I love that! It’s an honor and privilege to be able to share some of their stories with you in this space. And while I love sharing their hearts and expectations as they leave for short term missions trips, I’m just as anxious as you are to hear the specifics of how the Lord chooses to move in their midst and how He works in and through them for His glory.

So, as we’re still praying for Bethany and Rachel as they begin week two in Haiti with a new team, let’s also lift up another dear friend, Kimberly, who is leaving today for a week long missions trip to Canada with a group of 10 other people from the college/young professional group at her home church.

Where are you going in Canada and what will you be doing?

We’re going to be smack dab in the middle of Toronto … a beautiful city with so many different nationalities represented. We’ll be teaming up with a church planter doing prayer walking, working on university campuses, and sharing the Gospel of Jesus Christ with those we encounter. A large part of our task is also to survey the area to see what the needs are there. And then pretty much doing anything else we can to assist our church planter partners.

Why is Canada so significant to you?

The Lord laid this country on my heart around 2008, and I have had a desire to go serve this country and these people ever since. I’m looking forward to interacting with and being amongst the people … working and sharing the Gospel and seeing if this may be where the Lord is leading for a season.

How are you expecting the Lord to work?

I’m expecting the Lord to lead me out of my comfort zone and stretch me in striking up conversations with people we meet, and I’m hoping to see Him change lives. I’m also praying for unity within our team as we come together as one body serving one Lord to share the fragrance of and life in Christ.

“But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads the fragrance of the knowledge of him everywhere. For we are the aroma of Christ to God among those who are being saved and among those who are perishing … Who is sufficient for these things? For we are not, like so many, peddlers of God’s’ word, but as men of sincerity, as commissioned by God, in the sight of God we speak in Christ.”

2 Corinthians 2:14-17 (ESV)

