Dear Russell…

In memory of Russell Wade | March 31, 1988 – July 29, 2002

Dear Russell (I’m sorry, I still just can’t call you Russ…),

It’s hard to believe it’s been 10 years.

Over 10 years since we’ve had to put up with (ok, and be amused by) your mischievous ways.

Well over 10 years since you made me so mad that I kicked a hole in the wall. And I don’t care what Mom and Dad say, that was absolutely all your fault!

A little over 10 years since I bribed you into riding along to Dairy Queen on a random summer weekday with me and you got that crazy blue ice cream slush … but in all fairness, I did say you could have anything you wanted (my treat) as long as I didn’t have to go by myself. And we just won’t mention how I asked you to steer the car while I ate my ice cream … I mean, sure it was a manual, but I would have shifted if the need arose.

Just over 10 years since you told me that yes, I did look a little silly doing dizzy bat for my team at the Mega Relay on the M-Fuge rec field.

And 10 years since you’ve been here with us and we’ve heard that infectious laugh.

Sometimes it feels like so much longer and other times it feels like just yesterday, but although it’s been 10 years…

We still think about you often.

We still know someone is missing at holiday and family events.

We still bring up memories of you … sometimes in the wake of those memories, we cry. Other times, we can’t help but laugh.

We still think of our family as one with 3 siblings.

We still feel a little jealous that you got to see Jesus face-to-face first.

We still miss you.

We still love you.

Your Sister Always,

Emily

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

Psalm 73:26 (ESV)

17 thoughts on “Dear Russell…

  1. Christie Bumgardner

    Emily, this is beautiful beyond words. And, of course, I’m sitting here bawling like a baby. What a special tribute to Russell from his fabulous sister! I’m sure he and Jesus are smiling on this one! Thank you for sharing it with us!

  2. chris

    Emily, what a beautiful tribute to your brother. Yes, you will always be 3 siblings. What precious memories of an incredible young man. So you really kicked a whole in the wall? I think Russell is laughing knowing that you shared this. 🙂 Love you!!

    1. Deborah

      I too remembered when I looked at the calendar today! Such a well-written beautiful tribute! God is good to give us memories–and yes, strength to get through all experiences! I know Russell is enjoying being with the Son and our wait to be with him and Jesus in eternity seems long here on earth, but will pass in a flash compared to the joy that awaits! You are a wonderful family and your testimony has blessed all of us! I know God has wonderful things in store still here on earth! Love you all!
      Deborah

  3. Jacki

    how very well done….what a wonderful tribute….what amazing pictures…what a caring sister….love

  4. Michael

    I miss him so much . . .thank you, Russell, Duane, Leslie, Cooper, and Emily for profoundly impacting my life.

    1. Debbie

      This is beautiful, Emily; thank you for sharing. I didn’t realize Russell and I shared a birthday. Now that I know, I’ll remember to pray for your family on our special day.

  5. Emily Post author

    Thank you to all for your prayers, sweet comments, and memories of Russell! It means more than I can express. Again, thank you!

  6. Pingback: A Letter to My Teenage Self | The Inner Harbor

  7. flowerpatchfarmgirl

    You’re slaying me here. Honored to have met Russell through his Big Sis here. “We still feel a little jealous that you got to see Jesus face-to-face first.” (made me tear up) xo

  8. Pingback: His Presence, His Arms, His Love | The Inner Harbor

  9. Pingback: 5 Things | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.