{Day 1} 31 Days of Quiet Confidence

**for individual links to each day in this series, go here**

“Behold, a king will reign righteously … And the work of righteousness will be peace, and the service of righteousness, quietness and confidence forever.”

Isaiah 32:1, 17 (NASB)

Earlier this year, I began a faith adventure that was simultaneously terrifying and crazy exciting when I began an application process with an evangelical international missions organization to explore serving overseas with them on a short-term basis for 2 years.

I chose to be silent in this space because it just didn’t seem right to share in real time while I was processing mentally, discerning spiritually, and seeking to follow Christ for each “next step” of the process. Not to mention, I chose to keep a relatively small circle of those family, friends, pastors, and mentors around me who knew as well.

I’ve gone back and forth as to whether I should share this story now (or even at all), but the prayer of my heart from the very beginning … my deepest desire in this life, really … was, and still is, to know God more, to lean into His Son Jesus Christ, to follow Him with my all, and to make His name known for His fame and His glory.

Although ultimately this application process came to a close a couple of months ago as we parted ways prior to any formal training or placement, that prayer can’t be answered if I hide the story. The only way for God’s glory to be recognized in all that He’s done through the process (and is continuing to do) is to share it.

I would love to tell you that I handled each unknown twist and turn of this almost-six-month experience with both quietness of spirit and confidence of heart, but that is just not the truth.

Yet even in my moments of imperfect (and often lacking) faith, the Lord has been continually drawing me into a deeper confidence in Him. And it’s only as He leads me to abandon my own plans and come to a place of complete dependence on and trust in Him that my soul is able to experience the quietness and rest that it so desperately craves.

And that’s what I hope to share with you over the next 31 days – don’t worry, it will be broken up into small and manageable pieces.

It’s my story … though really, it’s HIS story … of deeply rooted faith and trust in the sufficiency and sovereignty of Jesus Christ, of beyond-the-intellectual belief that leads to obedience, of following hard after Him even when it’s challenging, and of fixing my eyes on Him for the quiet confidence that only He can give.

—–

**linking up with the Nester’s community of 31 Day participants here.**

5 thoughts on “{Day 1} 31 Days of Quiet Confidence

  1. Stefanie

    Thrilled to have found you through the #31Days twitter stream. Subscribed to your blog so I can follow along and pinned you onto my 31 Days board. Looking forward to reading more.

  2. Pingback: {Day 29} I Don’t Serve a Small God… | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.