{Day 3} The Biblical Imperative to Go

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I commanded you; and lo, I am with you always, even to the end of the age.”

Matthew 28:19-20 (NASB)

Once home from the cruise, I was both overwhelmed and compelled by the Great Commission, Biblical imperative to “go”.

But with no further or more specific direction, I simply began searching the websites of several missions organizations to research options for short term mission trips (ranging from 2-6 weeks), so that I could begin to act on and explore this imperative that had gripped me so intensely.

I knew I had a longing to see extreme poverty up close … not just to see it, but to fully engage with and invest in the lives of those in its midst.

I knew I had a desire to be more intentionally involved in Kingdom work … in sharing the Gospel truth … in unfamiliar, maybe even unreached, places.

And I knew that I didn’t need to have all the answers or fully understand where God was leading in order to be obedient.

But in my research one particular night, I didn’t expect to come across a 2 year opportunity to serve with a highly respected organization that so closely aligned with my God-given gifts and interests.

While certainly not an “Aha! Moment” calling, as I read through the brief description of responsibilities and expectations for the field position, I couldn’t help but think, “Why not? I could do that. Maybe I should find out more information…”

2 thoughts on “{Day 3} The Biblical Imperative to Go

  1. Pingback: {Day 4} The Inquiry | The Inner Harbor

  2. Pingback: {Day 24} You Have to Know French | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.