{Day 15} Completely Overwhelmed

“For God alone, O my soul, wait in silence, for my hope is from him…Trust in him at all times, O people; pour out your heart before him; God is a refuge for us.”

Psalm 62:5, 8 (ESV)

From the journal . . .

Completely overwhelmed. That’s how I feel in this moment.

I submitted the final application to the missions organization, had a few days of relief, and then promptly received about a thousand more requirements (okay, that may be a slight exaggeration) to be completed before they will even begin to look at the application … another interview, multiple medical forms, and psychological testing to name a few.

And in the midst of these additional requirements, everyday life goes on. Summer traveling commitments, family obligations, responsibilities at work, opportunities with friends, serving at church, and just plain day-to-day life.

So when I received a reminder email from the placement coordinator asking for completed paperwork less than 7 days after the initial request, although logically I knew that not responding to the email sooner was not the end of the world, and individually, none of the requirements are really that difficult, I went straight past rational to completely overwhelmed.

And I know the Lord is asking and leading me to trust Him, even in these details, but here in this moment, I’m not even sure I know how…

