{Day 19} Demanding Trust

“Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and cultivate faithfulness.Delight yourself in the Lord; and He will give you the desires of your heart.Commit your way to the Lord, trust also in Him, and He will do it … Rest in the Lord and wait patiently for Him.”

Psalm 37:3-5, 7 (NASB)

As I stepped back from the details of this process and attempted to see from an eternal perspective, all I knew with certainty was that the Lord was straight up demanding trust.

It’s as if He was saying:

Don’t you see?

Don’t you get it that when you settle into a direction of obedience, a perceived calling, and think you’re set for a while because you think you know what’s coming, even when your desire is to honor and glorify Me, I will not let you stay there?

Because it’s in those moments when you stop depending on Me and think you can somehow do it yourself, even if just for a little while.

That’s not where I want you.

I want you living in a constant state of desperation for and absolute dependence on Me.

So yes, be confident in following Me, but never stop depending on Me. Never get to a place where you think you’ve got this, where you think you can leave me out of it for a while because you think you already know the next step.

You don’t.

You don’t know what the future holds.

But I do.

Trust that. Trust Me.

