{Day 29} I Don’t Serve a Small God…

“…for I am God, and there is no other; I am God, and there is none like me, declaring the end from the beginning and from ancient times things not yet done, saying, ‘My counsel shall stand, and I will accomplish all my purpose.'”

Isaiah 46:9-10 (ESV)

I don’t serve a small God … so why do I act like it?

When I think I have to write the details of my own story, I act like I serve a small God.
When I act like taking a wrong turn on this faith journey is the end, I act like I serve a small God.
When I worry so much about and agonize over which direction is right, I act like I serve a small God.

But just because His timing is different than mine, just because He allows me to make mistakes that ultimately draw me into deeper dependence on Him, just because I don’t perfectly understand what He’s doing or where He’s leading, just because I can’t see the whole picture, doesn’t mean He’s a small God.

Quite the contrary.

He’s such a big and mighty and powerful God that He knows each detail from beginning to end. He knows how all the pieces fit together because He sees the big picture … the whole picture … while I can only see one very small miniscule part.

He knows the eternal story because He wrote it.

I’ve spent far too much time worrying about what comes next in my story.

But this quiet confidence.

It doesn’t worry.

Because there is peace in His presence and confidence in Him who holds tomorrow.

