The Gift is in His Presence

the gift is in his presence

A day set aside to intentionally admire the unexpected gifts, the unnoticed miracles, the beauty in the everyday?

Sign. me. up.

Because truth be told, I’m bad at that most of the time.

My detail oriented self fails to recognize the small and sometimes seemingly insignificant details in the everyday that make this life beautiful. The moments that make it possible to not just make it through a season … especially this one … with some degree of sanity and decorum, but to really live it. With purpose. With thankfulness and joy. With humble awe and wonder.

It requires a shift in focus away from self to see the always at work hand of the Creator.

And as I force the issue, though gladly because this exercise is a good one, as I try hard to see the gifts in the aftermath of a day filled with mental burn out and physical depletion, I keep coming up empty.

Unwrapping these gifts shouldn’t be this hard.

But somewhere in the midst of it all, I realize that by trying so hard, my focus has been clouded. Because my eyes have strayed from the Giver.

The gift of today, of this moment, isn’t to be found in what He has done or in what He has given. And yet, it’s all because of what He has done and what He has given.

The gift is in His presence.

In the knowing … especially in this season … that He is Emmanuel, God with us. God with me. Walking with me. Today. In this moment.

And yes, this promise of His presence is eternal, but there is such power in knowing that in the very moments when I struggle and try and fail, when I come up empty, He is fully here.

The gift is resting in the assurance of that promise.

He overwhelms in the very places I lack. All of this life depends on His presence in each moment of the everyday.

“O come, O come Emmanuel, and ransom captive Israel…”

Yes, O come, Emmanuel, and ransom this captive heart once again that so often strays from the beauty of Your presence and forgets the faithfulness of Your promises.

“Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel shall come to thee, O Israel rejoice!”

And I do rejoice. In this gift, this promise, unwrapped.

——

*linking up with tuesdays unwrapped at chatting at the sky*

2 thoughts on “The Gift is in His Presence

  1. Pingback: Photo of the Week: Forty Seven | The Inner Harbor

  2. Pingback: Glory to the Newborn King | The Inner Harbor

Comments are closed.