Joy Unspeakable

joy unspeakable

When my head hit the pillow last night, I immediately thought that what I really needed was a do-over.

But from the crazy bad mood of yesterday that fear would have had me believe was more of a permanent shift not to be easily overcome arose a calm, yet firm, hope and possibility for today, and the opportunity to leave what may have just been a bad day behind and move on.

Turns out the finding of joy in that photo was no mistake.

Only the Lord can answer a prayer for more of His joy and more of His peace that I didn’t even fully appreciate I was praying because the sentences didn’t seem complete enough and the words didn’t seem eloquent enough. Though I most certainly was praying … from a place of greater desperation than I realized.

And then this morning, this:

“For from His [Jesus Christ’s] fullness we have all received, grace upon grace.”

John 1:16 (ESV)

Not exactly a do-over. But joy unspeakable.

Thoughts redirected and a heart full of hopes, possibilities, and dreams.

Deeply felt, but loosely held.

Because they’re better in His hands.

—–

*linking with Emily Freeman for tuesdays unwrapped at chatting at the sky*

4 thoughts on “Joy Unspeakable

  1. Renee

    So true that grace and Joy are better than do-overs! Love the pic you put with this post, Emily. I’m visiting from Chatting at the Sky. Blessings!

  2. Erin@ Sweetness Itself Blog

    Oh my word this is exactly what I needed to read today. I’ve been feeling the same way – SO thankful for His grace 🙂

    Just found your lovely blog through the Chatting at the Sky linkup. Love your heart! Excited to follow and read more.

    Xo
    Erin

    sweetnessitself.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.