Story

“And I am sure of this, that he who began a good work in you will bring it to completion at the day of Jesus Christ.”

Philippians 1:6 (ESV)

story

I see story in everything.

And trust me, that’s not all bad. In fact, for the writer in me, that’s really good.

When it comes to my own life, I’m pretty good at seeing how the details work together … I’m good at fitting pieces and elements of my journey up until now into a coherent and plausible story.

I can take small snippets of memories and feelings from particular times and see a story written into the in between moments and the everyday.

I can look at transformative life events and see how God has been faithful, how He has never left my side, how He has stretched me and grown me and drawn me closer to Himself, and how He has used certain circumstances and people for His purpose.

I can look back over my life until this present moment and see how everything that’s happened and every path I’ve gone down (yes, even the wrong ones) has been intricately woven together to bring me to the place I am now.

As I analyze and observe all of these elements, my tendency is to make them fit neatly together, to see patterns, to make sense of circumstances (however scary and unknown they were at the time) that led to other circumstances that each serve as individual pieces of a bigger plot culminating in the right now of today.

And in some ways, this is all fine and good and maybe just part of being human.

But in other ways, it misses a very important truth: my story isn’t over.

There’s still a lot of unknown.

And the Author?

Well, to put it bluntly, it’s not me.

It’s HIM.

And by trying to make so much sense of the unfolding story in this moment from my limited perspective, although there may be elements of truth in what I come up with, I may also be overlooking the possibility that the place I am now was never meant to be a chapter break … that the story wasn’t supposed to make sense here at all. It may just be a small part or a next step or a preparation for something in the future that I can’t even begin to imagine.

But the Author of my story?

His stories are beautiful. He already knows the end. He knew it when He started writing. And His good work will be completed.

The middle may not always make sense to me, but each part fits into His whole story perfectly.

So I trust this Author.

Because ultimately, I want to live my story according to His pen and watch with eager anticipation as He weaves each detail together while simultaneously weaving together a far bigger story, the greatest story of all … of undeserved redemption and unconditional love … His own.

One thought on “Story

Comments are closed.