Love One Another. Even Just the One.

“And this is his commandment, that we believe in the name of his Son Jesus Christ and love one another, just as he commanded us.”
1 John 3:23 (ESV)

love one another. even just the one.Photo credit: Alene Snodgrass

For the past several months, I’ve been intentionally asking the Lord to give me opportunities to love people more and to love people well.

He’s answering that prayer, though differently than I anticipated, I think.

It seems He’s answering in the simplest way imaginable (though it’s really not simple at all). By bringing just one individual to me at a time to love more and to love well.

He’s leading me to discipleship with just the one (or two), to praying for just the one who needs to read each blog post, to being fully present in each moment so that I can invest in just the one in front of me, to making a difference to just the one instead of one thousand.

It takes intentionality. It takes vulnerability.

It requires me to be all in.

It may not be building much of platform or making much of a name for myself.

But it’s showing Jesus to that one. It’s kingdom work. And it’s beautiful.

It may not change the world. But it may change that one.

And I kinda love that.

“Beloved, if God so loved us, we also ought to love one another. No one has ever seen God; if we love one another, God abides in us and his love is perfected in us.”
1 John 4:11-12 (ESV)

5 thoughts on “Love One Another. Even Just the One.

  1. Pingback: Graffiti Summer Study & Do | The Inner Harbor

  2. Carole Huck

    Hey Emily, This old lady keeps showing up again and again !!!!! and being inspired by a young woman that is investing her life in just one at a time. How “timely”!! Sometimes when I think of the many that I am asked to encourage or foster, it gets to be a weary battle within the soul. Of course that is doing it on our own strength and not with the guidance of the Holy Spirit. “O how weary I am “!!!! That is quite “telling” as it shows how shallow I am when I don’t begin with God and address it and pray for guidance. Help me Lord to love that one person that you have put in my life, not because I have to, but because the loving Holy Spirit is forming that desire in my heart!
    Thanks Emily for another thought provoking challenge for this day!!!

    1. Emily Post author

      I’m guilty of trying to do it by my own strength, too, Carole. Thank YOU for this perspective and the encouragement … it really is so much better to love with a pure heart by the power of the Holy Spirit!

Comments are closed.