Graffiti Summer Study & Do

“Graffiti? It’s the scribble of story and love that God intertwines upon your heart.”
– Alene Snodgrass

Have you read my latest post about loving just the one yet?

If not, click on over and read it (It’s short. I promise), and then come back here.

Seriously. I’ll wait.

graffiti summer study and do

Okay, now that you’re back…

Does that message resonate with you? Have you been seeking the Lord for opportunities to love more, too? Have you wanted to move beyond just listening and start doing?

If so, sometimes it’s just a matter of telling your fear that your God is bigger and taking the next step in obedience and faith. My friend, Alene, has provided just such a step by inviting us to join her for Graffiti Summer Study and Do.

In her ebook, Graffiti: scribbles from the other side of the street, along with a homeless-man-turned-friend she met while serving on the streets, Alene encourages us to hear someone’s story from the other side of the street, to invest in someone who might be a little different than we are, to go outside of our own comfortable community, and to follow Jesus’ example to serve someone else.

As an extension of the book, she has also written a 6 week Graffiti Study and Do companion guide that through studying the life of Moses, challenges us to take small steps each week to make a difference in the lives of others.

Beginning June 3rd, I’ll be joining Alene in this Graffiti Summer challenge with a weekly post, and I would love to have you join us, too.

Yes, that means you!

You can write a post and link to the weekly blog hop, write a note or post on Facebook, or just leave a comment sharing about your experience.

No doubt it will be at least a little uncomfortable and a little scary (it is a challenge, after all!), but however you are able to participate, I am excited to see how the Lord will use our willingness to step out and serve for His glory!

So what exactly do you need to do?

1. Go read this post on Alene’s blog inviting you to join us. She explains all of this much better than I do.

2. Get a copy of Graffiti AND download a copy of Graffiti Study and Do (the guide is free!).

3. Ask to join the Facebook group.

4. Come back on June 3rd with a ready heart.

That’s it! But if you have any questions, please feel free to contact me.

Are you in?!?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

10 thoughts on “Graffiti Summer Study & Do

  1. Alene Snodgrass (@AleneSnodgrass)

    I love this, “It’s just a matter of telling your fear that your God is bigger and taking the next step in obedience and faith.” WOW that’s what I have to do continually and sometimes I forget to talk to my fear. But I’m getting better and I know this summer will challenge me further. So thankful your on this journey with me!!!

  2. Beth

    A beautiful invitation to others, Emily, to be a part of this summer challenge. I look forward to going on this journey with you as we take steps in obedience and faith. Many blessings. Beth

  3. Pingback: 5 Things | The Inner Harbor

  4. Carolina L Sizemore

    Emily! I miss you! So excited we get to have another adventure together, even if it is “virtual”!
    Yes, my God is bigger, I can’t wait to see what He is going to do!

  5. Pingback: Graffiti Summer: Introduction | The Inner Harbor

  6. Richard Gardner

    Hi, my name is Rick and I’m the “homeless dude” that wrote Graffiti with Alene. To say that I’m overwhelmed by all this is a gross understatement. God put me on the streets just as He sends out all missionaries. The stories that unfolded are nothing short of a miracle. It is an honor and privilige to share them.It seems that I was well trained and suited for this call on my life but believe me I would have never chose to do it. Once I started though it has now become a passion. Helping those that seem to be unloveable and unreachable brings me more joy than I ever thought possible. I encourage everyone that has a tug on thier heart to step out of thier comfort zone because that’s where unimaginable blessings are, trust me I know. God uses people let Him use you.

    1. Emily Post author

      Rick, thank you so SO much for this! I’m blown away that you would take the time to read and comment here. Your words (both in Graffiti and here) are such a blessing and encouragement! This stepping out of our comfort zones thing is not easy, but I’m so beyond grateful for your perspective and insight – that God uses us where He places us and uses our willingness and obedience to step out into different. Thank you for your example and for being such a big part of this! God Bless, Brother!

Comments are closed.